Welcome, Guest. Please Login.
Latex Allergy Support Forum
06.09.10 at 08:02:45
News: Signup for free on our forum and benefit from new features!
Home Help Search Login


Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Be Warned (Read 9439 times)
Teddy
Global Moderator
*****




Posts: 1783
Gender: female
Re: Be Warned
Reply #30 - 14.01.10 at 00:45:08
 
Scams are doing the rounds again Bob. We got one for the business saying we have taken our broadband with a proper company as far as I can tell called Eclipse Internet and we have never heard of them. We have had two letters showing our so called bank details asking us to contact them if they are not correct.  
 
Needless to say they were not and we have no intention of contacting the premium rate phone number given. I sent the correspondence to trading standards locally and they are sending it onto the nearest TS office to the company address given by this company.
 
So many scams we need to be careful.
 
It is a good idea to let your local Trading Standards Office know about any scam as they look into it and can forewarn others.
 
Teddy
Back to top
 
 

Teddy
  IP Logged
Bob
Global Moderator
*****


.

Posts: 657
Gender: male
Re: Be Warned
Reply #31 - 14.01.10 at 18:23:41
 
Believe it or not, there are a number of scams now connected with the Haiti disaster.  One in particular purports to come from the Red Cross.
Back to top
 
 

A 'Veteran' - active duty, discharged, retired, or reserve - is one who, at one point in their life, wrote a blank check payable to his country for an amount of 'up to, and including his life.'
  IP Logged
Teddy
Global Moderator
*****




Posts: 1783
Gender: female
Re: Be Warned
Reply #32 - 16.01.10 at 19:20:22
 
How disgusting is that Bob. How can people stoop so low. It is sickening. I know what I would like to do to them. Argh Angry
Back to top
 
 

Teddy
  IP Logged
Bob
Global Moderator
*****


.

Posts: 657
Gender: male
Re: Be Warned
Reply #33 - 27.01.10 at 09:16:23
 
If you get a phone call from a firm calling itself Support Onclick in Bradford, hang up.   This firm is actually Pecon Software Ltd. (peconcal@vsnl.net), En-27, Salt lake Sector-V, Kolkata West Bengal,700091 INDIA Tel. +91.03340101601.
 
They will give you the number 01274900834.
 
The speaker will give an English name but have a heavy Indian accent.   They will ask you to log on to your computer and will tell you that the computer has a problem that they can fix.
 
Eventually, they will require a fee of £65.00 from your credit card and, guess what, they will take considerably more. This will be for a year's subscription to their site and there will be no way you'll get your money back.
 
Back to top
 
 

A 'Veteran' - active duty, discharged, retired, or reserve - is one who, at one point in their life, wrote a blank check payable to his country for an amount of 'up to, and including his life.'
  IP Logged
Teddy
Global Moderator
*****




Posts: 1783
Gender: female
Re: Be Warned
Reply #34 - 28.01.10 at 17:26:46
 
Thanks for this info Bob.
 
Also a good idea is is anyone gets this call they let the local trading standards office know about it
Back to top
 
 

Teddy
  IP Logged
Bob
Global Moderator
*****


.

Posts: 657
Gender: male
Re: Be Warned
Reply #35 - 31.01.10 at 12:27:16
 
If you get an email purporting to be from the Inland Revenue, ignore it.   The revenue does not use email to contact people.
Back to top
 
 

A 'Veteran' - active duty, discharged, retired, or reserve - is one who, at one point in their life, wrote a blank check payable to his country for an amount of 'up to, and including his life.'
  IP Logged
Teddy
Global Moderator
*****




Posts: 1783
Gender: female
Re: Be Warned
Reply #36 - 02.02.10 at 18:34:53
 
These scams are getting so frequent Bob our local Trading Standards has put bins in places e.g. local libraries big stores etc for people to put any letters pertaining to scams.
 
Shows how bad it is getting
 
Teddy
Back to top
 
 

Teddy
  IP Logged
LASG Forum Administrator
LASG Forum Administrator
*****




Posts: 105
Gender: male
Re: Be Warned
Reply #37 - 23.07.10 at 10:48:41
 
This is a RED ALERT to all computer users.
A company calling themselves ' ANTIVIR SOLUTIONS ' sends out a message to all and any computer user, saying they have the answer to Virus problems on your computer.  If you open the message your computer will be corrupted by a Virus.  Making it impossible to use ( This has happened to one of our members ).
 
 They are infecting your computer and wanting you to pay them for anti virus software to get rid of it.
 
 
If this happens to you then the only solution for you is to take it to a computer workshop for a complete overhaul of your system, which will be costly.
 
DONT OPEN ANY MESSAGE THAT YOU ARE NOT FAMILIAR WITH.
Back to top
 
 

The Administrator.
WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print